We provide a calm and safe environment for anyone to learn personal defense skills using the best available technology and training. Courses include classroom work along with shooting exercises on the Del Norte Gun Club Range in Rio Rancho, New Mexico. We also offer Concealed Carry classes each month which include the 2 day initial training, 2 year refresher training, and 4 year renewal training. Private and group classes also available.

Refuse to be a Victim Seminar | $35
The Refuse to be a Victim seminar is a 4 hour crime prevention course which presents a variety of information to help you take a pro-active role in personal safety. From setting up a home defense plan and safe room, to using your internet service provider’s (ISP) parental control options to block access to adult material and adult chat rooms, the Refuse to be a Victim program has information for everyone. An NRA certificate is awarded. This is a classroom seminar with no range or shooting required.
Basic Gun Safety Course | $35
This is a 2 hour seminar in the classroom only. Students will be taught the basic rules of gun safety for many different types of guns to include pistols, revolvers, shotguns, and rifles. Students will be able to understand the basic operation of all these types of firearms. Student will be required to clear each and every type of firearm available in the classroom. Students will experience handling many different types of firearms which is designed to increase knowledge and confidence with regards to basic firearm safety rules.
USCCA Basic Handgun Shooting Course | $100
This is an 8 hour course which includes classroom and range time using USCCA course material. You can expect to learn how to shoot revolvers or semi-automatic pistols. Students learn the basic rules for safe gun handling, pistol parts and operation, ammunition, shooting fundamentals, range rules, shooting different positions including two and one handed positions, and cleaning the pistol. Approximately 100 rounds of ammunition will be required for the course which is not provided. Rental guns are available and include 50 rounds of ammunition. Cost is $50 in addition to cost of class.
NM Concealed Carry License (CCW) course | $125
This is a 15 hour - 2 day course using USCCA course materials. Students should expect to shoot approximately 100 rounds of ammunition. Students will learn all New Mexico Department of Public Safety required subject matter to include firearms safety rules, safe storage of handguns and child safety, safe handgun shooting fundamentals, ammunition storage, threat recognition, judgmental shooting, all pertinent Federal, state and local criminal and civil laws pertaining to purchase, ownership, transportation, and use and possession of handguns. Also taught are techniques for avoiding a criminal attack and how to control a violent confrontation, techniques for nonviolent dispute resolution and knowing when to use deadly physical force. This course uses USCCA materials and completion with certificate can be used to apply for other state’s CCW license besides NM. Rental guns are available and include 50 rounds of ammunition. Cost is $50 in addition to cost of class.
NM Concealed Carry License (CCW) | 2 Year Refresher-$35 | 4 Year Renewal-$65
We can use any scheduled CCW Day 2 class to complete the 2 hour refresher or the 4 year renewal. Just email us with your intentions to attend, and pay online. Rental guns are available and include 50 rounds of ammunition. Cost is $50 in addition to cost of class.
USCCA Defensive Shooting Fundamentals | $280
You NEED to train in an effective, realistic and practical a manner as you can. You can’t waste time or resources on anything that isn’t a specialized area of study. This training will guide you through the steps you’ll need to take to go from just sending rounds down range to actually training in specific, tested methods of armed self-defense. The USCCA teamed up with Rob Pincus and I.C.E Training to create this course and VFT is proud to be able to teach this course in New Mexico. Anyone from experienced experts to novice shooters will get a lot from this course. Registration is required for the eLearning training 2 weeks prior to any scheduled range date. Total cost $280 and which includes the $30 for the book and eLearning.
USCCA Defensive Shooting Fundamentals Level 2 | $280
Defensive Shooting Fundamentals Level 2 starts with a short review of Level 1 ideas and drills, then rolls into more advances drills. This 8 hour course will teach you cognitive drills, critical incident reloads, wind sprints, and so much more. We will provide real life simulations for practice.
USCCA Home Defense Course | $125
This is an 8 hour classroom and range course using USCCA courseware materials. Students will learn how to develop a personal and home protection plan, the legal use of force, defensive shooting fundamentals, self-defense firearms basics, and some advanced shooting skills. The purpose of this course is for the student to understand how to integrate firearms into their home defense in a safe and effective manner. Approximately 100 rounds of ammunition will be required for the course which is not provided.
Countering the Mass Shooter Seminar | $55
This 4 hour seminar encompasses an analysis of data gathered from 48 mass shootings that have occurred since Columbine, to determine what can learned from these tragedies, including whether a reduction in magazine capacity or the banning of any class of firearm would have changed the outcome. Do “gun-free” zones figure into the planning of these mass murderers; whether victim response at any mass shooting has made a difference; and whether “universal background checks” or other proposals by gun control advocates stand a chance of stemming the current trajectory of these shootings. Course ends with a summary of this data with a comprehensive plan designed to eliminate the scourge of these shooters once and for all. “Countering the Mass Shooter” book by Michael Martin is included.
USCCA Instructor Certification Training | $347 (Additional $250 to USCCA)
Are you interested in becoming a firearms trainer who can provide their students with a reliable and relevant education? By becoming a USCCA Instructor, you can arm your students with the highest quality materials to ensure they know how to safely handle their firearm. All of the materials needed to start instructing immediately are provided. Over 300 professionally done PowerPoints and 14 Videos are included. We focus on teaching you how to teach. Previous certifications are helpful, but not a requirement. Experienced shooters with solid safety skills and a desire to teach are welcome and encouraged to contact me. You leave the class certified to teach 3 different classes, the excellent Conceal Carry Class, Basic Pistol and a Home Defense class. This certification alone does not allow you to teach CCW in New Mexico without further coordination and instructor application with the state. An additional $250 cost is required to be paid to USCCA for the e-learning modules which is a pre-requisite to be completed 2 weeks prior to this class start date.
Women’s Handgun & Self-Defense Fundamentals | $100
The USCCA Women’s Handgun & Self-Defense Fundamentals is a one-day course than includes the book written by Beth Alcazar. It is a welcoming and engaging training guide created by a woman for women who are seeking to begin, improve upon, or add to their firearms skills. With three distinct modules (Women’s Basic Pistol, Women’s Intermediate Pistol, and Women’s Defensive Pistol), this course is designed to reach students who are brand new to firearms and those who are ready to learn more about defensive shooting. Basics and fundamentals will be introduced, reviewed, and then built upon, while also exploring situational awareness, common types of handguns, ammunition types, malfunctions, firearms handling skills, defensive pistol fundamentals, and the use of deadly force. Whether you’ve never touched a firearm, you’re looking for the next steps in your training, or you’ve chosen to learn about the skills, tools, and mindset needed to use firearms for self-defense, you can be prepared to carry confidently every day with tips and techniques from experienced women in the world of firearms.
USCCA Emergency First Aid | $55
While most Americans are comfortable dealing with the cuts and scrapes of everyday life, and tens of thousands have learned the Heimlich maneuver and CPR, most individuals would be a bit less comfortable dealing with severe, life-threatening injuries or illnesses when seconds count and EMS personnel and the emergency room are minutes (or longer) away.In life threatening medical and trauma situations it all boils down to the same thing — sustaining the life of the patient until he or she can be delivered to the emergency room. You will be provided with a USCCA Proof of Training Certificate upon successful completion of this course. The USCCA Emergency First Aid Fundamentals course certification meets OSHA first aid standard as outlined in Title 29 of the Code of Federal Regulations 29 CFR 1910.151(b).

Private Classes

For private classes and group classes, please contact us for scheduling and prices. Emails us at, call us at 505-312-0065, for complete the form below. (Include details about class/group sizes and discounts)